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Return On Ad Spend (ROAS) Marketing: What Is It & How Does It Work

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Return On Ad Spend (ROAS) Marketing: What Is It & How Does It Work

What Is Return On Ad Spend (ROAS) In Marketing?

Return on ad spend, or ROAS is a marketing and advertising metric that measures the effectiveness of an advertising campaign in terms of its ability to generate revenue. In other words, it tells you how much money your company made for every dollar you spent on advertising. While ROAS can be used to measure the success of any type of marketing campaign, it is most commonly used in digital marketing because it is easy to track and quantify results.

How To Calculate Return On Ad Spend (ROAS)?

ROAS is calculated by dividing your total revenue by your total ad spend. For example, if you spent $100 on ads and generated $1,000 in revenue, your ROAS would be 10x (1000/100 = 10). Meaning, for every $1 in ad spend you are generating $10 dollar back in revenue. 

ROAS marketing

Why ROAS Is A Key Marketing KPI?

ROAS is key marketing KPI because it allows you to track the progress of your campaigns and adjust your ad spending accordingly. If you’re not happy with the return you’re getting on your investment, you can either cut back on your ad spend or change up your campaigns to try and improve your results. 

It’s also worth noting that ROAS is different from profit margin. Profit margin simply tells you how much profit you’re making per sale. ROAS, on the other hand, takes into account both the revenue generated and the cost of the ads themselves. This makes it a more accurate metric for gauging the success of your marketing efforts. 

What Is Considered A Good ROAS?

There is no hard and fast rule for what constitutes a “good” ROAS. It varies depending on your industry, your product or service, your customer lifetime value, and a number of other factors. However, as a general rule of thumb, a ROAS of 2x-3x is considered average, a ROAS of 3x-5x is considered good, and a ROAS of 5x+ is considered excellent. 

[Read More] How To Create A Marketing Plan In 10 Simple Steps

6 Tips To Improve Your ROAS In Marketing

There are many different ways you can improve your ROAS. Some common strategies include:

  • Increase Targeted Traffic
  • Improve Your Conversion Rate
  • Create More Compelling Content
  • Lower Your Cost Per Click (CPC)
  • Increase Your Ad Spend
  • Measure & Monitor Your Results Closely

Increase Targeted Traffic

One of the best ways to improve your return on ad spend is to increase the amount of targeted traffic that you are getting to your website. Targeted traffic is traffic that is specifically interested in the products or services that you are selling. You can increase targeted traffic by advertising on websites that are related to your niche, using targeted keywords in your ad campaigns, and creating targeted landing pages.

Improve Your Conversion Rate

Another way to improve your return on ad spend is to improve your conversion rate, which is the percentage of visitors to your website who take action such as making a purchase or signing up for a newsletter. There are a variety of ways to improve your conversion rate. This includes things such as:

  • Optimizing your website for conversions.
  • Creating compelling offers.
  • Using effective calls to action (CTAs).

Create More Compelling Content

Your marketing campaign will only be successful if you create content that is compelling and relevant to your target audience. Your content should be interesting and informative, and it should offer value to your readers. If you can create content that meets these criteria, you will be more likely to engage and convert your readers into customers.

Lower Your Cost Per Click (CPC)

Next, another key factor that can affect your ROAS is your cost per click or CPC. This is the amount you pay for each click on your ad. One way an advertiser can lower their cost per click is by targeting more long-tail keywords. These are generally less competitive and as a result, tend to be more cost-effective. Also, advertisers can reduce their CPC by bidding on keywords that are more relevant to your products or services.

Increase Your Ad Spend

If you want to see a significant improvement in your return on ad spend, you may need to increase your ad spend. This may seem counterintuitive, but if you are not spending enough money on advertising, you will not reach enough people to see a significant return on your investment. Of course, you should only increase your ad spending if you are confident that you can generate more sales or leads than you are spending on advertising.

Measure & Monitor Your Results Closely

Finally, it is important to monitor your results closely so that you can see what is working and what is not. Keep track of how much traffic and sales you are generating from each campaign and adjust accordingly. If you find that one campaign is not performing well, don’t be afraid to cut it off and focus on the campaigns that are working better for you.

[Read More] Marketing Funnels: What Are They & How Do They Work

Bottom Line

Return on ad spend (ROAS) marketing is all about generating more sales with less ad spend. The goal is to get the most bang for your buck by targeting high-value keywords, creating targeted ad campaigns, and testing different ad platforms and networks. By doing this, you’ll be able to maximize your ROAS and improve your bottom line. 

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Jonathan Phillip is an up and coming writer content creator with an interest in the stock market. He's found a powerful place in writing about true growth enterprises. Yet his primary focus for the last 7 years has been creating content about the cannabis industry and marijuana stocks. He is one of the top contributors to cannabis media outlets like MarijuanaStocks.com. He also in control of social media management for StockMarket.com. From a young age Jonathan has been an active fellow of the cannabis community. Born and raised in Miami, Florida, he's been able to recognize growing trends in the space including the start of cannabis derivatives, vapes, e-liquids, wax, and more. His capability to find emerging niches has given him the capacity to find valuable information from top industry names. Jonathan has also been able to build a strong social media presence for companies. He has worked with many public companies to develop a digital presence and footprint. As an active blogger and social media influencer, his focus is also on lifestyle segments of the market. You can find Jonathan documenting on topics ranging but not limited to industry conferences and investor events to corporate disclosures and cannabis market movers. From the start of marijuana companies going public, Jonathan has made it his mission to discover information before the crowd. The main focus point of his writing is on undiscovered or under-researched companies that could carry genuine, lasting market potential. Through his due dillagence process, Jonathan has worked to be one of the early writers to find the opportunity in cannabis over other things like alcohol and he was one of the inital content creators to cover the multi-billion dollar deals that occurred in 2017 and 2018. He has also covered the emergence of multi-state operators in the U.S. after Canada paved the way in late 2018 and 2019 for legalization in North America. Jonathan is also an active member of the underground hip-hop scene. He has worked with some of the biggest names in the rap community while also gaining valuable insight from top producers and business moguls focused on moving brands forward. In his free time, Jonathan builds social communities and continues to hone his skills as a leading financial writer.

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